Nuit Blanch Preview

MONTREAL MONDAY! Every Monday I detail something new about la belle ville! Updates on things going on in the city, or new neighbourhoods I explore. This week: a preview of the upcoming Nuit Blanche!

Next Saturday, February 25th, is one of the most well-known festivals in Montreal, Nuit Blanche, an all-night-long outdoor and indoor arts, food, music, and sports extravaganza.  I am so excited, especially because there is so much to do that is free! Montreal is known for bringing the party, so I am really excited to see how this goes.

The official website lists the various activities, but really, the free mobile app is far easier to navigate. There are 3 main districts in which events will be happening: Centre-Ville, Vieux-Montreal, and Plateau/Mile-End.  There is also some stuff going on at Parc Olympique (by the Biodome). Some events start in early evening, and some events end early.  Most activities run until 2 am, with most DJ events running until 4 am.  Some things run all the way until 6 or 7 am!

Other things to see and experience on my agenda for the evening include (in no particular order):

  • Frosted Volleyball: outdoor volleyball games! What!
  • La Maison du Chocolat: artisan chocolate. Perfect after calorie-burning volleyball!
  • Flashlight tours of the Redpath Museum: $4 for admission, but dinosaurs by flashlight!
  • Camellia Masala: photography show of images from their trips to Asia to procure tea. Also free chai tea pick-me-up!
  • Swing Dancing at City Hall: hourly swing dance demonstrations.
  • Skating at Parc La Fontaine: free ice rink – I did just buy some skates!
  • Underwater Art Exhibit: rent snorkel equipment, listen to music, and swim from picture to picture. Okay, I am not sure if I can actually do this, or if I need to have snorkeled before, but I had to include it, since it is the most amazing combination of things I’ve ever heard of!
  • Penguin Red Carpet: the Biodome penguins come outdoors (weather dependent, obviously).

I heard that last year the lines were really long, so I have a whole bunch of other activities bookmarked. We shall see what we will be able to get up to, and next week I will have many pictures I am sure!

-W-

 

2 Comments to “Nuit Blanch Preview”

  1. So much awesome!!!!
    I’m so curious about the underwater art exhibit. I’d love to try that. Is it in a community centre pool?

    I hope you manage to fit it all in to one day. Those will be some fantastic fotos for the following friday.

Any thoughts?

