Spring Wardrobe

Welcome to WISHFUL WEDNESDAY: where we feature cool products, awesome home decor, and fantasy vacation planning. Today, I’m dreaming about updating my wardrobe for spring!

Have you tried out Polyvore yet? I just discovered it this week. You think Pinterest is a waste of time? Polyvore lets you shop online for clothes and create outfit collages just like in the magazines. Holy fantasy-land time suck.

I’m currently obsessed with the idea of a remixable wardrobe, where pieces are extremely versatile in ways you wouldn’t expect.  I also really wish I could start over on my current wardrobe, minus a select few pieces. If I wasn’t so broke, I would seriously consider it.

I decided to try and exercise in remixing using 8 pieces. Items to be remixed include tops, bottoms, jackets, and dresses. Accessories that can be pulled or remixed are shoes, scarfs, belts, bags, and jewelry.  I tried to remix as much as possible without being boring.  It was a really fun exercise, and I think I did pretty well for a first time.

8 Remix Items

 

 


I’ve chose a colour palette of neutrals with large pops of colour. I really was drawn to the coral-red, yellow, and aqua palette, which I think defines “spring”. I’ve also been coveting a chambray shirt and leather jacket, and wanted to see how I could make those work.  I came up with 10 outfits with these.  There are definitely more combinations, but the kind of read the same. It’s also a largely casual wardrobe, because honestly,that is my life.  I do have a few more formal outfits in there though. Let’s begin!

Spring Dream Wardrobe 1

This was my first mix.  As I said, I wanted a chambray shirt, and then found the yellow skirt and scarf. With those three pieces, I figured it looked kind of travel-chic, like something you would wear while going to museums and monuments in Europe. So I added walkable shoes and a larger bag that could tote around lots of souvenirs!

Coffee Date

This was my second outfit. I used to have a pair of wide-leg olive trousers, and have been forever in search of another pair.  I wore them to death!  I was also drawn to the drape and the print of the top.  Spring can be a little cold for a tank top, so I added the oatmeal cardigan.  I really feel like belts anchor a look, and are especially flattering on me because I have a really dramatic waist curve that can easily get lost. The flats make another appearance, and a long pendant owl necklace makes it just hipster enough for JJ Bean!

Date Night

Here’s the first more formal outfit.  This probably took me the longest to put together because finding a versatile dress was really tricky.  I went with this for 2 reasons – first, I have one like it in burgundy, and second, I needed it to be able to layer well, which I think it will do.  This is a good day-to-evening look.  I adore these oxfords, and actually may end up purchasing them to fix my lack of spring and fall shoe problem.  The clutch is a really unique piece, although clutches always scream impractical to me.

Casual Nautical

I am a huge fan of stripes and nautical themes.  I have been coveting a cozy sweater like this for awhile, and am glad to be going back to Vancouver where I can wear something like this year round! Also, boots. These are similar to my Frye boots, so they had to be included. I thought the punch read headband added a nice touch. It’s nautical without going overboard (pun intended!).

Lazy Day

I feel the need to be more put together on my lazy, hangover-like days.  Here’s a way to do it. The scarf this time is repurposed as a headband, and the flats are comfortable without being lazy. It’s got a drapy feel, which to me I’m always drawn to when I’m lazy, but still looks somewhat put together.

Casual Office

Here’s a mad remix-technique I’ve seen several bloggers pull: dresses as tops! What-what? It all depends on the dress and skirt of course, but it if worked with these two pieces, how sunny! My last office was very casual, so something like this would have totally flown (maybe even have been considered dressy). The tote is a good size for a laptop or to conceal a lunchbag.

Luncheon

This to me feels so ladylike and demure! I can just picture going to tea with Mummy E and Mummy A downtown at the the Fairmont. Can this please be on the agenda when I get back? I definitely have to get those shoes.

Seawall

One of my other favourite Vancouver activities is walking the Seawall. This would be perfect for a cool, overcast day. I like that it is mostly neutral with a punch from the bag. Also, I will never tire of Converse.

Layers

Vancouver spring can actually be pretty cold, so this much layering is still a good idea. Waist-cincher belts are a trend I’m really happy with, and I like the simple, canvas texture of this one.  And more mad remixing skills – the dress as a skirt! I thought about adding a necklace, but I really felt with the belt and two tops enough was going on up there.  Maybe a cuff would have done.

Date Night

Now we go for the fancy night out.  This is for something like a formal wedding or something equally fancy.  The Hubby and I aren’t fancy people, and Vancouver isn’t a fancy city, so this would be for a very specific occasion. But look at those stockings!

A note on the shoes – I am not 100% on them, but I have gotten extremely picky about shoes. I won’t buy fake leather because the shoe dies right about the time I get attached. My next point is highly controversial and I know many of you will disagree. I despise stilettos. Who decided that stilettos were the status quo? It actually upsets me – the majority of women look ridiculous because they teeter so badly. And when you look at the balance of proportion it is way off – too much forward visual weight and not enough at the back. The absolute worst are the Loubiton platforms that stupid Victoria Beckham has glorified. They are glorified stripper shoes.  I know, everyone loves them, but I just can’t stand them.

Okay, I should probably end before I upset more people by going off on my hatred of the pointy-toed shoe!

-W-

2 Comments to “Spring Wardrobe”

  1. I will definitely be ready for lunch at the Fairmont…anytime! I must run out and buy a smashing outfit dahling!

Any thoughts?

