Cornbread and Butternut Squash Soup

20120229-214245.jpgOn a whim, I bought a whole butternut squash. It’s not the typical impulse buy, I know, but that’s what happens when you start experimental cooking. You see something, it speaks to you, and you drag it home to play with.
First question I has was how to get it into an edible form. Answer: to the Internets! Honestly, how did people cook before they could look up How to Prepare Butternut Squash on You Tube? Also, butternut squash is a little more…suggestive than I expected!

20120229-213815.jpg

I decided to make half into soup, and roast half to make with some pasta tomorrow night. I also roasted the seeds, because with a little salt they make a delicious salad topping or snack.
For my fancy baking item of the night, I decided to tryCeliac Teen Cornbread Recipe. I’ve been eating a lot of Stagg chili lately (it’s gluten free and available at the depanneur), and so corn bread was a natural to come up. Plus easy quick bread!

20120229-214255.jpg

The soup was nothing to write home about. It’s something I would experiment with. A little Parmesan cheese, ginger, and garlic next time to add some substance to the sweet squash flavour.
-W-

Any thoughts?

