Back From Blog Maternity Leave

We’re back! After an extended hiatus at the end of my pregnancy and transitioning to motherhood, I’ve decided to pick up the blog again. So we have lots to catch up on, which means I have lots of material for posts!

A brief overview:

Baby B:

image

Little B

image

Big B

We have a baby! Our son B was born August 2013. He was just a little guy, but has grown up plenty, and is now a bustling 1-year-old.

Being a mom puts all your habits under a microscope. You see the purity of your child’s personality, and you fear how both you and the world will damage it. And you want your child to learn the best things possible from you, so you suddenly become hyperaware of all the bad habits you possess. You also become aware of your strengths – what you want your child to admire about you. Motherhood has brought out my adventurous spirit, and I’m still learning how to let go of some of my anxieties so I don’t pass them onto B.

Ger:

image

Home:

We’re still living near Commercial Drive in Vancouver and couldn’t be happier. Our street is full of kiddos, and there’s lots to do within a short distance. Our space is definitely crowded with all the baby stuff, but for now, I love our little home.

Fitness:

image

image

Having a baby really changed how I view my body. I realized the power it has, and the value of taking care of it. Parenthood also makes you want to model the behaviors you value, and Nick and I both value fitness and health. I’ve been hiking, running, and doing lots of yoga, as well as things like neighborhood walks and swimming lessons with B! Nick has taken up hockey, so we go watch him play when the games are early.

Cooking:

I had some degree of nausea for my entire pregnancy, so cooking fell a fair bit by the wayside. Now, since B is fully into finger foods, I’m learning to cook meals that all 3 of us can eat. I haven’t done much gluten-free baking, since sleep-deprivation has killed my ability to do the math and complex ratios that recipe-making entails. I’m hopeful to get back to it a bit more as B starts sleeping better through the night (which will hopefully happen soon!).

That’s an update on where we are for now. More to come in the near future.

Any thoughts?

