Grouse Grind

image

B and I braved the Grouse Grind a few weeks ago. Had I done it before, I made not have attempted it with a baby. But a good mix of courage and stupidity made me decide to give it a go! It’s also one of those trails I feel okay going solo, since it’s such a tourist trap.

A few things I learned my first time:

1) Use a proper hiking pack. I love my Beco Gemini because it’s low profile and light weight. But proper hiking packs have somewhat better weight distribution, which will save your shoulders on a longer hike. They also usually double as chairs and have little pockets to stash things. Which brings up my second point…

2) Don’t bring the diaper bag. Literally pack 1-2 diapers, an extra onesie, and snacks. You likely won’t change a diaper on the way up, and if you need wipes, paper towels at the lodge will suffice.

3) Eat outside. It was quite crowded the day we went, and all the balcony seats in the cafeteria were taken. I intended to poke around afterward and check out the scenery, but I was in an endorphin and food coma and could barely navigate to the gondola down! I wish I could have enjoyed the view from the top a bit longer.

Now that I’ve learned my lesson, I think I’ll have a better trip if there’s a next time. I swore on the way up “Never Again”. But now that some time has passed, and some other moms have expressed interest, there might be a trip in my future. The feeling of accomplishment at the top is pretty incredible, and B was itching to try a few of the steps himself!

Any thoughts?

